Sublevels and Orbitals

The principal energy levels are subdivided into sub-levels. These sub-levels contain spaces for electrons, called orbitals. There are 4 main types of orbitals, s, p, d, and f. An orbital can hold only 2 electrons.

s - sublevel are spherical in shape

Each orbital holds 2 electrons



p - sublevels have 3 orbitals

Each orbital holds 2 electrons

So a p sublevel can hold a total of 6 electrons

d-sublevels have 5 orbitals, each orbital holds 2 electrons, so a total of 10 electrons can fit into a d-sublevel

Energy Levels